Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 18, 2007, 1:00 AM   #1

Ok, so I am new here so hello! I am a recently graduated college student looking to go back soon but still don't know what to do with my life so I recently decided i should invest in a DSLR. In saying that I was looking between Cannon and Nikon now i know that doesn't narrow the decision down much but mainly i need something durable preferably with a metal frame which from what I have been reading magnesium alloy is what is being used and also preferably weather sealed. I am usually in the mountains or of somewhere where a camera doesn't like to be. and though I try and be careful ... more times than not i'm not.. but basically i take mostly landscape, macro, and low light. but also throw in some action for critters and friends running around.... So for now i will leave you with that and try to narrow my search and/or give you more information as it presents its self... but my brain is fried atm and i can't think of anything else to say...

Cheers
Skytoproberts

oh yeah I have been using SLR's on and off for the past 5 years but mainly just point and shoot lately so i'm a bit rusty. >.<
Skytoproberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2007, 1:26 PM   #2

So far, I understand thatyour ideal camera would be weatherproof, and have a goodlarge aperture wide-angle zoom, and a medium telephoto macro zoom.

The list of weatherproof dSLRs is short. The ones I could find are the Canon 40D and EOS-1Ds, Nikon D-200, Olympus E-3,and Pentax K10D,though it would not surprise me ifthere were others.

As for a goodlarge aperture wide-angle zoom, the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 is available for Canon, Nikon and Sony, and the Sigma 18-50 is available for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sigma & Sony. Canon and Nikon have lenses in this category as well, but they are pricey.