Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 22, 2007, 1:20 PM   #1

Now I am debating between the XT vs the XTi

Nikon is out of the question since most of my photos are low light action photography. Is the XTi $100-$200 much better than the XT when it come to this?

I know I need a good fast lens, but right now it's just not in the budget. I'm a martial artist and it would be nice to have something better to capture action shots than my point and shoot.

Also...I know the XTi has some sort of dust reduction technology on the sensor. How good is it? if I opt for the XT model, what can a person do to remove dust from the sensor vs. getting it repaired?

Thanks and happy Thanksigiving
five40kix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 22, 2007, 2:33 PM   #2

five40kix wrote:
Quote:
Now I am debating between the XT vs the XTi

Nikon is out of the question since most of my photos are low light action photography. Is the XTi $100-$200 much better than the XT when it come to this?

I know I need a good fast lens, but right now it's just not in the budget. I'm a martial artist and it would be nice to have something better to capture action shots than my point and shoot.

Also...I know the XTi has some sort of dust reduction technology on the sensor. How good is it? if I opt for the XT model, what can a person do to remove dust from the sensor vs. getting it repaired?

Thanks and happy Thanksigiving
JohnG has said in your other topic that the XTi is better suited to what you want to do than the XT. Dust Reduction is just one distiction between the two. And if you are careful about the environment in which you change lenses, dust doesn't have to be an issue. I've been changing lenses on myKonica-Minolta Maxxum5D for almost 2 years now, and have yet to clean my image sensor.