Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 25, 2007, 2:23 PM   #1

I'm a college student and beginner/amateur photographer. I took a film b&w photo class in high school (about 4 years ago), and loved it! However, after my class I bought my current camera, an Olympus C-4000 zoom. I wanted a camera that could serve as both a p&s and a way to learn more about photography. This turned out to be its biggest problem, because its too big for everyday shooting and too automated/menu-y for more advanced shooting. I've kind of lost my passion for photography due to the frustration with my camera. I realized, though, that I definitely miss it. I've decided that I need to get a dslr if I really want to learn photography and figure out at what level I want to keep photography in my life.

My budget is about $550, and I've narrowed down to the Canon XT, the Nikon D40, and the Nikon D40x. I went to a camera store this weekend and played with all 3 and some others. The nikons felt very comfortable in my hands, the canon felt very similar. Neither was clearly awkward in my hands. I have no old lenses, as my fslr is a vivitar 3800n. I may possibly have a flash, that I bought for the vivitar, but generally I have no old parts weighing into the decision. I will definitely be sticking with the kit lens, at least to start, because I doubt I'll be able to afford more lenses for awhile. My shooting style is not something I'm sure about. I really like to take pictures of my cats, but other than that I really just want to try shooting everything and see what happens.

Please help me narrow my choice down
jboschan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 25, 2007, 2:30 PM   #2

All of the 3 are quite capable cameras.

Ergonomics did not seem to be a deciding factor and that's important.