Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 26, 2007, 2:04 PM   #1

I'm in need of a new camera for shooting some indoor basketball games of my daughter's. I've tried the point n shoots etc., but the indoor results are just bad. I'm thinking about the SLR-like models with larger sensors to try and capture the indoor action. Fuji has some such as the s8000 and the s6000 that look promising in my price range... say about $400 or less. Do you have any recommendations given what I want to accomplish shooting indoor high school basketball? I am a novice photographer, but not a complete beginner. My wife is someone who needs to be able to just turn the camera on and take a picture, so it needs to have a mode that's easy to use.
Thanks for your help.
cpkramers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 26, 2007, 2:22 PM   #2
Administrator

You'll want a DSLR with a bright prime (fixed focal length versus zoom) lens for a higher percentage of keepers shooting indoor sports. You will typically need to shoot at around f/2 at ISO 1600 to get your shutter speeds up in the 1/400 second or faster range. A model with ISO 3200 is an even better bet, in case the gym is not lit as well.

An 85mm f/1.8 is a popular lens for this purpose. This type of lens typically runs between $300 and $400 for Nikon and Canon DSLR models.

On a tighter budget, you could try to get by with a 50mm f/1.8 instead. But, a much better bet would be an 85mm.

Note that the entry level Nikon D40 and D40x models do not allow Autofocus with these types of lenses. I'd probably avoid those cameras for indoor sports (although you could use manual focus instead).