Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 26, 2007, 4:17 PM   #1

Please help me before I pull out my last three hairs!!!!

I want to upgrade my current Canon A-540, I think I have it narrowed down to these two choices the Panasonic FZ-18 or the Canon A-720 IS. I know these are two very different cameras and I cannot decide which would suit me better. I know have a A-540 and many times I have wished for "IS" on it.

I have basically read everything I can find on these two cameras and I'm starting to think that maybe all of this reading is making me more confused.

I would like to know if those of you with superzoom cameras use the extended zoom often?

Which camera would you choose between these two?

Below are a few of my pics just to give you and idea of what kind of pics I like. Just keep in mind I'm a total rookie.
Attached Images

rachunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 26, 2007, 4:25 PM   #2

another one
Attached Images

Old Nov 26, 2007, 4:27 PM   #3

another
Attached Images

Old Nov 26, 2007, 4:36 PM   #4

last one
Attached Images

Old Nov 26, 2007, 5:53 PM   #5

Wow - I've seen some unusual combos on this forum, but I think you just moved into first place! Why do you think the A720 is an upgrade? Because it has IS? A little more zoom? Judging by the pics you posted (and they are very nice, indeed), and assuming they are typical subjects, you should be looking for a camera with a wider angle lens, in which case the Z18 would qualify. I don't see where IS would be beneficial for the types of pics you've displayed. With the 504mm top end of the panny, IS is a must, IMHO.

And why do you question extended zoom in a superzoom camera? Are you referring to digital zoom? There's something you're not telling us, isn't there? Are you looking for an all-around camera, or is there some specialty that isn't being satisfied by the A540?