Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 29, 2007, 12:10 AM   #1

Hi all,

I belong to a few forums, but I am new to this one. I am a 38 year old guy that used to do all kinds of crazy action sports. I surfed for many years, skateboarded for over twenty years and was sponsored for vertical inline skating. Last year I got back into vertical rollerskating and now that I am enjoying the local park, I would like to take pictures of people and have them do the same for me. I am an extremely amateur photographer, but have always had a thing for photography. My intention is to get a camera that I can take to the park and take pictures and videos as well as get people to take them of me. My friend on a skate forum told me the Canon S3 is great. I have seen the pictures and vids and am very impressed. I am not looking for perfection, but a camera that will do the job. I just want to take a ton of pics and a ton of cool videos and share them with the people that I film. I would appreciate any advice that can be given. I am definitely hooked on the S3, but would love to hear any opinions. I found this camera online for $220 plus $14 shipping. I plan on buying the 4 GB 6 class SDHC card. Please let me know, if I am on the right path or should try something different.

Thanks,

Robert
ocrob38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 29, 2007, 4:18 AM   #2

That's a great camera, but the price you quoted seems a little too good (to be true)- about $60 below what many of the reputable online dealers are selling it for (Amazon $286, B&H $289, Beach $286). Beware - lot's of scams out there...could be used, damaged, grey market, etc. Better to pay a little more and get it from a reputable firm, than to pay less and get a useless piece of melted plastic with no recourse.

Just my 2 cents.

the Hun

rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2007, 12:19 PM   #3