Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

View Poll Results: Which would you get?
Pentax K10D 3 60.00%
Nikon D80 1 20.00%
Other 1 20.00%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Old Dec 10, 2007, 3:58 PM   #1

I currently have a Canon Digital Rebel XT and am looking to upgrade. I am using the camera for mostly candid and portrait shots of my kids. I am leaning towards the Pentax because of the dust reduction and weatherproofing. For lenses I will be adding a 50mm and one zoom for now, probably 55 - 200mm. I am open for other camera suggestions if you think there is something to fit me better. I am new to this and want to be able to grow into the camera but I don't need overkill either. In January I am going to take a few classes to just help me get the real basics down. I did go to a camera shop locally and held them both, they were both comfortable to hold. I added the battery grip to the Pentax and loved that, they didn't have one for the Nikon so I didn't get to see how that one felt. Thanks so much for any help or suggestions!

Desiree is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 10, 2007, 5:11 PM   #2

Why not add a battery grip to your XT, and may be a couple of good lenses instead of changing a camera system? Is there anything wrong with your XT, or do you just want another system?
algold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2007, 5:46 PM   #3

Yeah, what is your XT not doing for you?
David French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2007, 10:09 PM   #4

I love my K10, and would happilychoose to buy it again,but I do wonder why you are changing systems. It gets expensive when you have to buy lenses all over again. What about buying an upgradedCanon body? I love having the weather proofing and the image stabilization with any lens, but don't think the dust reduction works very well - I do better with a hand air blower.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2007, 1:38 AM   #5
Super Moderator