Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 13, 2007, 10:17 PM   #1

I'm very disappointed with my current digital camera. It's a Sony Cybershot, 3.1 mpx camera. I HATE that the picture is snapped about 3 seconds after I click the button when I have the flash on. And, it takes a long time (5-10 seconds) before I can take another picture. I'm also frustrated with how grainy the photos look, even when printed out in 4x6, forget enlargements! They're awful. Oh, and I hate how the flash gives these three false flashes before the real flash. In group shots, everyone thinks the photo has been taken already and is already leaving their positions!

So, I'm a very amateur photographer, but I want to learn more and I want to start getting some good photos of some important events.

I have a 1 year old son who moves very quickly and I have a horrible time capturing good photos of him. Actually, I've resorted to taking photos outside only, where I don't have to use the flash, then I try to take about 20-50 photos, as quickly as possible after each other, hoping that maybe ONE of them might turn out ok. I'd really like to take some photos of him indoors, while he's moving, and still catching him in the photo!

The other event we try to use the camera for is races and triathlons, with very little success. Those bikes go by so fast that I often catch the person who is behind my husband in the race.

Although the option to zoom is desireable, it's not as important to me as capturing a photo when I actually hit the button (and not 1 or 5 seconds later).

If I go with a DLSR camera, I definitely want it to be entry-level. I don't mind bulkiness and I don't mind carrying around a larger camera bag. Price is a bit of a concern, but more important is that I get a good camera to capture shots of people that move quickly.