Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 15, 2007, 12:38 AM   #1

I am a technically adept photographer, but not a great photographer. I find I average about 1 KEEPER (i.e. would print in 8x10+) for every 200 shots. All my 35mm equipment was stolen many years ago and I chose the high-end point-and-shoot route for a long time. I've been using a Sony DSC-F828 for the past 3+ years and have about 27,000 images in storage. I love this camera, and will keep it as a back-up, but I want to move back to SLR.

Should I go for the "Entry-level" D40X or spend the extra coin for the D200? Most of my photography is outdoors and I like the magnesium body of the D200 for its durability - but it costs more 2X as much as the D40X with a good lens. Which ever camera I settle on, I will also purchase the 18-200mm VR because I like its versatility. (I will add other lenses later to get myself back to where I was with 35mm.)

Peter

Peter Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2007, 1:12 AM   #2

It all comes down to one thing... will you use those extra features? There are many of them, that's for sure, but you will have to asses their value to you.

Have you considered the D80?
David French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2007, 8:05 AM   #3

There are some significant differences between the D40x and the D200, as described in Nikon's own http://www.nikonusa.com/fileuploads/...SLRCompare.pdf

The D40x allows you to adjust the ISO in 1 EV increments, while the D200 allows you to adjust the ISO in 1/3 EV increments.

The D200 allows White Balance Bracketing, Exposure Bracketingand Flash Bracketing.

The D200 uses a pentaprism viewfinder, while the D40x uses a pentamirror. Pentaprisms are brighter but heavier, and pentamirrors are more fragile.

The D200 has Focus Tracking.

The D40x has only 3 focus points, while the D200 has 11.