Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 16, 2007, 12:05 PM   #1

Well, I've had my Canon Powershot S2 IS for 2-3 years now and feel that I'm ready to make a jump into the SLR world. I've taken some very nice pictures with it and familiarized myself with the use of the telephoto and wide angle lenses that I purchased for this camera.

Although I'm still learning things about photography I think I'm ready to advance myself and get into the SLR models.

I've been reading the reviews and I really like the Canon 40D but I don't want to be biased in my purchase just because I enjoyed my S2 IS. I'm thinking it'd be best to stick with Canon because I've become familiar with their features and think adapting to the 40D will be easier than switching to say Nikon.

I was hoping that someone could give me suggestions to some other SLR's and how they might benefit me in the long run.

I like to take nature photos when I can but I would also like to get into action shots and take good portrait photos.

I was originally focussing on the Canon Rebel series but kind of fixated on the 40D due to the higher ISO andDigic III processor. I'm looking to purchase something for the long run and is easily flexible in experimenting with other lenses etc.

Spending the extra money for a camera isn't entirely concern as long as I'm getting the most of my money, especially since I'm looking to buy a camera for the long haul.

My pops has a Canon Rebel and he thourougly enjoys it and when I have used it I've also enjoyed.

I know it seems like I've made up my mind, and I can't go wrong getting the 40D, but I'm seriously looking to look in to some other options.

Any help is appreciated!
Viroguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2007, 12:31 PM   #2
Administrator

Viroguy wrote:
Quote: