Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 17, 2007, 7:19 AM   #1

i have a particular situation that i hope you can give me advice on. i am currently using a S3 with the 1.5 teleconverter and taking photos of herons in korea. despite the camera's limitations, i have a collection that a publisher is interested in using for calendars 2009 and also a photo book with suitable quotes from korean lit. i am not a professional but sent a link to my online photo album and he liked the photos. as i know the photos are lacking in quality, i had intended to upgrade to a dslr (nikon d80 say) and a decent lends (28-200 or 55-300 say). however, i recently learned that the lens on the powershot is providing 600+mm (and it possible to use a 2.2 teleconverter which would be 900+). as i understand it, for this particular situation, the advantage of a dslr would be better photo quality when cropping the heron shots (which is necessary in most cases as they are far away) but would working with the smaller tele lens on the dslr (am not ready to pay for a larger lens like bigma and don't like the size and weight) cancel out that advantage. also it seems that the S3 takes decent photos but suffers from noise at higher iso. i rarely use higher than 80, however, so, does it make sense to purchase a new dslr for this particular project and if so, just what is the advantage. it seems that the loss in lens tele power negates the increase in photo quality i would gain. also, have read that the newer S5 is not that much better although here also the complaints seem to focus on the higher iso shots. any suggestions. thanks.
jkjack101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 17, 2007, 8:33 AM   #2