Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 18, 2007, 10:54 PM   #1

I currently have a Fuji S5200 which I like quite a lot but has a few flaws--no IS, 1.8 LCD. Also, I recently had it fixed and it's focus is not what it used to be.
I take mostly landscapes and sky scapes, city pictures and people. Low light is not a priority, although it should do well with cloudy days. I don't shoot sports and no longer have small fast moving children, so action is not important to me.
I am only a beginner and am just learning how to use manual controls. I still take about 70% point and shoot, although I am intending to increase my technique.

I think the Panasonic FZ18 would be suited to me. I especially like the idea of the wide angle plus the extended zoom but I have two concerns. Several people I have read have suggested that this camera would not work as a point and shoot, but only for someone with the experience to work with it. Others have said it does fine? Any one have an opinion on this? Is it perhaps too much camera for me? I am also aware of the fact that it is the photographer who makes the picture, not the camera. I've seen many beautiful images from this camera, but perhaps they are from fine photographers. Hard to know.
The other is the concern with the problem of blue banding that I have read about (and seen the pics) on dpreview.
Other alternatives are the Canon S3is or s5is but neither of those cameras excite me the way the Fz18 does.
Suggestions and opinions appreciated.
Rags
Attached Images

rags is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 19, 2007, 1:29 PM   #2

I would probably go with the FZ-18 as superzooms are interesting for me, too.