Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 27, 2007, 1:15 PM   #1

I am looking to purchase an SLR camera and appropriate lens in order to shoot photos of my wifes line of Jewellery. I also hear that a light box might be in order as well. We are going to start up a web site for her line as it is really taking off locally in an exclusive retail store. I am a total amateur therefore I will need a combination that is easy touse, relatively speaking. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
textdetails is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 27, 2007, 8:33 PM   #2

textdetails wrote:
Quote:
I am looking to purchase an SLR camera and appropriate lens in order to shoot photos of my wifes line of Jewellery. I also hear that a light box might be in order as well. We are going to start up a web site for her line as it is really taking off locally in an exclusive retail store. I am a total amateur therefore I will need a combination that is easy touse, relatively speaking. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

I know you said SLR... but...

I was pretty impresses with the Canon S5's "Super Macro"... this pictures was simply just goofing around, trying it out:

The S5 has a hot shoe so you could add a flash if you wanted to bounce it for a more studio/artistic lighting effect...

Mr_Saginaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2007, 9:45 PM   #3

If you're not into photography and your only use for the photo's in for posting on the web. Then you might not need or want an SLR. Many mid level camera's (often wrongly called P&S) such as the S5 already mentioned have great macro capability. Where as with a SLR you are going to have to spend some money on a good macro lens, and/or extension tubes. You could also use close up diopters on the front of the lens, which is a little cheaper but I personally am not a big fan of these.