Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 28, 2008, 11:14 AM   #1

Hello all,

I am fairly new to digital camera's and new to this site. I currently have a HP R507, which is ok, but I cannot get the shots I want.

I am currently looking at a new camera, but don't have the budget for an SLR. Therefore I am looking at bridge camera's.

I have been looking at the Panasonic FZ18 and the Canon S5 iS.

Both seem good cameras, however, I will be using it for taking motorsport pictures (hence the zoom) at tracks and also indoor shows, where maybe light could be a problem. The subjects at indoor shows would 99% of the time be static.

Could anyone recommend the best camera for the job please?

I have read the reviews on here and cannot seem to determine which would be best for my needs.

Any help appreciated.

Cheers
Ads

Ads1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2008, 5:11 PM   #2

Either will do just fine for outdoor daylight motorsports. Indoor shows will depend on the exhibition hall. Our local new car autoshow (Quad Cities Autoshow held each FEB) is held in a very well lit exhibition hall (River Center, Davenport, IA) and there is plenty of light for almost any newer digital camera (I use my Kodak Z612 and my son uses his Kodak C533) without jacking up the ISO unreasonably. It would a fairly easy task for either of the cameras you mention. BUT, the lighting quality in exhibition halls vary considerably. The rest of the shows in this area are outdoors in the summertime.

I'd pick the camera that felt the best in my hands and had the most logical (to me) menu structure.

ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 5:32 PM   #3

The indoor shots are going to be the tough ones... (pretty much the case with any P&S... in my opinon)

I've used my S5 IS at the drag strip... haven't tried circle or road course...

These were taking with IS set to Panning...

Mr_Saginaw is offline   Reply With Quote