Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 31, 2008, 2:27 PM   #1

Hi everybody

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"I've only just joined this forum so apologies if I go on a bit.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"I have a degree in photography (quite a long time ago), plus also did a 2 year course before that - in photography - so I know what I'm talking about regarding technical thingies, i.e. manual controls, printing,etc. I use photoshopconfidently, to post-process images, although I prefer a darkroom, and know how to print pretty well. Have always liked Nikon film cameras (make a nice clunky noise plus the lenses are lovely). A job I had ages ago bought me a minolta dimage 7i, (I still used my film cameras on the sly -it was expensive to process everything!) but i realise it's old hat now, and the battery system is pants.Would really appreciate advice about whether folk reckon the nikon d40 is a good buy, or should I be looking at something better? I prefer working with daylight, although flash is a hazard that has to be used in professional situations, need to work in RAW mostly, to keep it high quality, and really like sticking to manual/aperture priority. Lens quality is really important.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Thank you nice people.

mijrothera is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 31, 2008, 2:39 PM   #2

The Nikon D40 is a fine camera, but if you have a good selection of Nikon lenses you may not be able to use them on the D40. First, older Nikon autofocus lenses rely on a motor in the camera body, and the Nikon D40 and D40x don't have that motor. Also, some older lenses will only AE (any AE) with the D200 or better.