Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 12, 2008, 12:15 PM   #1

Hi I'm a pilot that flies all over the country. I can't tell you how many times I see something and wish I only had a camera to take a picture. The thing is I'm scared to buy. When I was younger I had a 5.1mp Sony. I remember one day Air Force One was landing at the airport I was at. I took a picture of the aircraft on short final to the field and when I looked at the camera I saw only a tiny dot in the distance. The camera ruined a beautiful shot. I don't want this to happen again. So what's a good camera, $1000 or less, for these kinds of shots? I'm wanting something I can stick in my bag hopefully. If there's a slimmer SLR then great. As far as megapixels go I'm willing to look at anything 6mp or higher as I know it's more the camera than the mp. Since I'll be traveling around to so many places I'd like to have something that's a little versatile.

Thanks for any advice guys.
Duck
ToiletDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 12, 2008, 12:30 PM   #2

Was it the camera that ruined the shot? Being a small spec sounds to me like it was a long ways off and the camerawasn't zoomed to the maximum telephoto position, which the user has to do. They've built a lot of auto this and intellient that into digicams today, but intelligent/auto zoom isn't one of those features. The photographer still has to do that.

Sounds like, whatever you decide on, it needs to have at least a 10x zoom on it. Wish I was in your position! I imagine you have lot of really unique-type photo ops, andfrom agreat vantage point..
Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2008, 12:38 PM   #3