Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 21, 2008, 3:53 AM   #1

I am just getting started on the process of searching for a DSLR camera. For the most part, I am a total novice at photography, but I have dabbled on and off. Most of the time I am taking miscellaneous "typical vacation" photos (buildings, landscapes, people). I am also an archaeologist and sometimes take photos of excavation units, artifacts, and rock art for documentation as well as aesthetic purposes, often with a macro lens or a magnifying filter. Ideally, I would also like something that I can use to copy documents on occasion as well.

My main camera is an old Pentax K1000, which I like because there is so little to go wrong with it when I am out hiking somewhere. However, I've always hated the focus finder (is that the right term?), as I find it very hard to tell when an image is sharp, especially in lower light conditions or when using the macro lens. Carrying film around is also starting to become a pain, as is finding decent yet affordable places to have it developed. Also, after some disappointing results on a recent research trip, I am really warming to the idea of having the ability to look at my photos on the spot and/or download them to a laptop so that I can go back and correct problems while I am still in the field, instead of taking multiple trips. I have two ultra-cheap point and shoot digital cameras, but they aren't really adequate for serious work.

I have a number of very nice lenses for the manual Pentax, some of them given to me by my uncle who is a professional photographer. I'd like to be able to use these on any camera I buy, and I'd also like to be able to control everything manually when necessary.