Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 1, 2008, 12:58 PM   #1

Hey all, im just starting out and want to make the switch from Digicam to a DSLR. I've narrowed it down to 3 cameras but have no idea which one to get. The Sony a200, Nikon D40X and the front runner, Canon EOS 400D. I was wondering if there are any things that i should know regarding these cameras and suggestions would be great. Thanks! (I will be using it mostly for architectural, sports and low lighting shots. not sure if this will effect the choice)
Owlpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 1, 2008, 1:29 PM   #2
Administrator

What kind of sports and what kind of low light shots?

The Nikon D40x will not Autofocus with some of Nikon's brighter primes (like the 50mm f/1.8, 85mm f/1.8, 105mm f/2 and more). The same thing is true for a number of third party lenses.

That's because the D40x does not have a built in focus motor, so you'll need to buy lenses that do if you don't want to use manual focus. For example, you'd be limited to Nikon's AF-S (Silent Wave Focusing) or Sigma HSM (Hypersonic Motor Focusing) lenses if you want Autofocus with brighter primes right now, and nothing brighter than f/2.8 is available in some focal lengths. Nikon decided not to include a focus motor in some of their entry level bodies (D40, D40x, D60).

So, I'd give members more information on what kind of sports (daytime, night games, indoor sports, etc.) and low light shots you're referring to.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2008, 1:39 PM   #3