Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 5, 2008, 10:34 AM   #1

I am a newbie, so please done flame me for my ignorance. I know I'm ignorant, but everyone has to start somewhere. I visited a camera store yesterday and was treated like crap -- the clerk was condescending, impatient, and patronizing. When we left my 11-year-old said, "why was that woman so mean to you?"

I am ready to move up in complexity and am willing to learn how to use these cameras.

I will be using the camera to shoot my kids' sporting events, most of which take place in nasty, low gym lighting. So I hope to find something that will help me take decent pictures of fast-moving objects in low light. I will also be taking a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Africa this year that I would like to docment.

My research has led me to consider the Fuji models -- S9100 or S6000FD. Can anyone comment on which might be best for my needs?

Also, can you please recommend the accessories I should buy immediately as far as batteries, memory, etc.

One last question -- is it safe to purchase a camera from an online dealer I've never heard of?

Thank you very much for your time, knowledge, and patience. I am grateful.
ChristyKay1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 5, 2008, 11:27 AM   #2
Administrator

ChristyKay1 wrote:
Quote:
I will be using the camera to shoot my kids' sporting events, most of which take place in nasty, low gym lighting.
You'll need a DSLR to shoot indoor sports in a typical school gym. You'll also need a bright lens (the kit lenses that come with most DSLR models are nowhere near bright enough for indoor sports, unless you want lots of blurry photos, even at ISO 1600).

For best results, that means using a prime (fixed focal length versus zoom) lens, with f/2 or brighter (smaller f/stop numbers) available. For example, an 85mm f/1.8 or 100mm f/2. A budget choice would be a 50mm f/1.8 in most camera mounts.