Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 10, 2008, 6:13 PM   #1

Hello,

I'm looking for a good camera to photograph my art work (paintings, up to 5' x 6'). I'm looking at the Canon SX100 IS, as it's inexpensive (typical artist comment, huh?), seems to have a lens that could reduce the fish-eye affect on the larger pieces, and because I've always loved my Canon cameras. What I have now is a Canon S50, and while I love it, I need more MegaPixels for finer print quality. Honestly, I'm a painter, not a photographer, and I could be way off base with this as a choice. Any advice would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks!
oldart is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 15, 2008, 5:40 PM   #2

Well, I'm not an expert, but wouldn't a decent scanner do a good job?

Although your painting may be to big).
Andrew P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 5:48 PM   #3

Depending on how many pieces of art you're talking about, you may be better off paying someone to do it. The results will probably be better than you would get from an inexpensive P&S digicam.

And if you want a lot of shots, borrow other people's cameras, or ask them to take some shots, and see what you think of the results.

If this is all you've got in mind for a digicam, finding one that didn't have a lot of geometric distortion, and had consistant sharpness from center to edge tocorner, might be frustrating.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 6:40 PM   #4

Wehave a substantial art collection. Naturally, we have recorded each painting for insurance purposes. I actually found that digicams are better at completing this chore. I used a Sony H-3 camera with 100% success.

Either the Sony H-3 or the Canon SX-100 would do the job just about equally well at a rather low cost.We have found the H-3 to be a great family camera as well, that I can carry in my purse very easily. Perhaps this is a workable alternative for you.

Sarah Joyce