Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 18, 2008, 12:37 PM   #1

Howdy gang! Newbie here with the usual request for HELP! I'm looking to make the move from the P&S world into a dSLR. I'm not a photog buff and know very little about the technical ins and outs of photography. I'm ok with learning and using basics like ISO, f-stops, maybe a custom white balance and which auto-focus setting to use. Beyond those basics, I'mclueless.

My need for moving into the dSLR world is mostly my kid's sports/action shooting. Specifically;

- Indoor; ice-hockey and equestrian

- Outdoor; softball, baseball, equestrian

I would also use it for family functions but honestly, 90% of the time a good P&S is more than sufficient for those events. I would probably never bring the SLR on vacations as I really do not like lugging lots of camera stuff around. I'll do it for the sporting events and the odd family function but I do not like to be saddled with large cameras and/or gear bags.

My goal is to keep the initial expense for camera or perhaps a "kit" to around $600.00. I want to be able to spend $$ on glass for the ice-hockey shooting by next fall so I have to leave some $$ for additional glass.

The more I read posts, reviews, and data sheets, the more confused I become. I've changed my mind on a brand or model at least 3-4 times over the last two weeks. I know from reading posts here for the last few days that you all get requests for help choosing camera A or camera B more than you all probably care to answer. So please, be gentle on me. The truth is that coming from the P&S world pretty much any dSLR will be a huge improvement and major step up for me. I just would rather not have to be "upgrading" a year from now and want to be able to use what I get for the indoor hockey and equestrian shots. Sorry for rambling on, here are the choices I'm pondering;

Rebel XTi w/ EF-S 18 – 55mm approx $590.00

Rebel XT body only $380.00