Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 18, 2008, 9:32 PM   #1

Which one would you guys dive for? I'm not a pro obviously. Just going on some trips to sunny beaches and exotic places looking for a SLR that can be a good walk around camera with a nice lens or two to go with it. I've been researching for some time and have narrowed it down to these units. Of course always open to new ideas.
ToiletDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 18, 2008, 11:26 PM   #2

I have the Pentax K100 (and the K10)and love it. Any of these three cameras will give you excellent results. No matter what camera you get, you'd probably want to buy 2 lenses (at least). Optically it is hard to make a lens that will do everything well. Pentax and Sony have the best selection when it comes to used lenses - Pentax can use any lens that they've ever made (along with a large number of thirdparty lenses) while Sony can use the Minolta Maxxum lenses. Only caviat with buying used lenses - make sure you understand what the capabilities are of the lens you are buying. Pentax lenses will retain whatever capability they were made with - if they were originally auto focus/auto exposure, they will continue to be so. However, if they were manual lenses to begin with, they won't suddenly become auto focus lenses (though they will work quite nicely and can be a low-cost alternative).

The biggest differences between these three cameras is the size and weight. Make sure you have handled all three cameras - you might find that one will be more comfortable for you, while another one might be too small/big/heavy/light etc. Also check the viewfinders - you'll be spending a fair amount of time looking through it (especially if you end up doing macro or have manual focus lenses). If your primary use is travel, imagine carrying that weight around your neck or on your shoulder/backall day.