Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 22, 2008, 10:57 PM   #1

Hey all:

I'm new to this site and am going to start out with a pretty generic question that I do have a special need to ask.

I'm a headshot photographer using a 20D with a 100 F/2 lens that I get some really good shots with.

I'm interested in upgrading for the sole reason of the LCD screen. I'm not a high end fashion photographer so I can't afford a viewing screen for my models, so they are stuck viewing the shots as we shoot through my LCD screen which is so tiny on my 20D that it's really hard for them to get a true idea of how things are going. I also shoot on location a lot so bringing my laptop is next to impossible.

I checked out both cameras and it seems the Canon lenses are a bit better in the area I need, 80-200 (after the 1.6 magnification, or 1.5 for Nikon). So my final decision was going to be based on the LCD screen. THe D300's LCD was so clear, it was amazing, but it was extremely warm, far warmer than the 40D which seemed cooler and truer to life but not as clear.

Does anyone have any input in this area, I'm not very well-versed with Nikon, but only need one lens with this camera so don't mind selling all my Canon stuff to make a change if it's really going to be worth it in the long run.

THanks ahead of time everyone!
msully555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 24, 2008, 10:38 AM   #2
Administrator

Have you considered getting one of the available portable storage devices with a better display than these cameras have built in? They would be much smaller than carrying a laptop around.

Here's one example:

Epson P-3000 with 40GB of storage

They offer them with various internal storage capacities, and you'll find similar products from a variety of other manufacturers.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2008, 6:34 PM   #3

Thanks Jim: