Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 1, 2008, 11:51 PM   #1

hi everyone,

my name is carl and i'm writing from naples italy, i've been searching across the internet for a good model that i can snap pics with and have great videos also.

it doesn't have to have giant megapixels, heres what i'm looking for.

pictures:sharp pictures with rich colors and pic that havean SLR feel to them.

zoom:anything over 2x and i can also use in video mode and focuses quickly with the video

video: it has to be at least vga at 30 fps and needs an image stabilizer to keep it steady, because i'm a drummer my hands are often shaking a bit, good auto light effect, so if its a bit more dimm inside than outside it make the image brighter and not look bad. also the microphone can be mono or stereo as i'm not picky but seeing as i plan on using this at concerts also it has to capture the sound without distorting, the only camera that i personally used and worked fine was the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-L1 but it wasn't mine and it worked wonders.

also i'd like to capture good pics in low light without using flash (concerts) and having the image not come out blurry because i didn't use flash.

and as for the size it doesn't have to be huge like an slr or small like a mini compact but a decent normal size.

the cameras i currently own is the canon powershot A60 witch has 2 megapixels and is a great camera and has a ton of manual controls and i'v taken great pics with it and it it probably the best thing i've owned but the quality is to small,it has low zoom.shoots move in 320x280 at 15 fps and are terribly grainy in normal light and the sound is bad and has a tiny screen and uses 4 batteries like it's nobodies buisness and still uses the old CF cards.