Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 4, 2008, 11:06 PM   #1

Hi everyone, I just recently had to return my canon powershot A560 due to a battery-use defect. While it was working I had a very hard time getting it to shoot good shots of my fish in the aquarium. Also, anything that I shot up close was quite blurry, despite spending a lot of time fiddling around with it.

Since I will be getting a new camera soon I have kind of been thinking of spending a little more money and hopefully getting a camera with better ability to shoot macros. Would it help to get a manual focus camera for this purpose? I am by no means a professional photographer, but getting good close-ups of my fish and aquarium plants is pretty necessary as this is mostly what I take pictures of.

What would everyone recommend? I was thinking of something in the $300 range. What is the best option for this budget in terms of shooting close-ups of fish

Thanks, Christina
Cwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2008, 11:23 PM   #2

Christina-

I believe inthe case of aquarium shots,that these will be existing light photos. Therefore, you need a camera such as the Fuji F-20 or F-40 that handles those higher ISO setting with ease.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 1:09 AM   #3

Hi Christina,

When you mention that closeups were quite blurry, how close were you? Most digicams have a minimum focus range of about 12", so if you are close than that, you will get blurry, unfocussed images. Most cameras have a Macro mode for focussing as close as 2".