Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 10, 2008, 6:34 AM   #1

Hello all. I am a new member and I believe this is the best place to seek advice for my dilemma.

I have been researching for SLR-like cameras and have come down to 2 models/brands: Canon S5 IS and Panasonic FZ18.

I am an extreme amateur who owns an Olympus IR-300 point and shoot and I am interested to learn photography. I feel I am not qualified for a DSLR yet for the reason that I have no budget to buy one AND the features may be overwhelming for a beginner like me.

Well anyways, what I am looking for in a camera is just the photo quality and ease of using the features as I will be learning Photography 101 from the extreme basics. I would also want a camera that is durable.

I am sorry to say I don't know much about Panasonic's quality and/or performance as most of my friends use Canon Point and shoots and they give high praises for Canon's picture quality. But I found that the Canon S5 IS has faulty battery covers, lens cover that easily falls off, and I prefer Lithiom Ion batteries over AAs. I am looking for Panasonic's major flaw but can't find anything substantial. But I am not convinced about the brand name.

So, which one do you is best for me? Please help. :?

mitchwah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 10, 2008, 9:51 AM   #2

If you can wait a little while, Nikon just annouced the release of its superzoom, the P80, with 18x optical zoom and Nikon's image stabilization system.
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2008, 10:38 AM   #3

Have no fears regarding Panasonic digicams, mitchwah. Panasonic has made a good name for themselves. The Leica lens might be the best in its class.

The Panasonic is far more versatile than the Canon, in that you can take wider angle shots and zoom further.