Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 20, 2008, 8:16 AM   #1

Hello!

First of all, enligsh isn't my first language, so sorry about that

Currently im looking to buy myself a digital camera, that i will use mainly to take outdoor landscapepictures. Most of these pictures will be taken at dawn or dusk, or in other words when there isn't much light. So i started to figure which camera to buy, but i simply don't know. I've been looking at three different cameras though:

Samsung s1050

Olympus FE 340

Olympus SP 550 UZ (This one is kinda expensive for me, but if it's really good i figure i should get it anyway)

Now, i am a total newbie in the world of cameras, so if these cameras are useless at taking landscape pictures, please let me know

If anyone knows of another camera which is good at taking landscape pictures, preferably in the same price level as those above, please tell me about it.

Thanks a lot in advance
mandendersked is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 20, 2008, 9:37 AM   #2

Landscape photography requires wide angle lenses (shorter focal length), and dawn and dusk photography requires fast lenses (large maximum aperture, numerically smaller f-number).Low-light landscape photography is a rare specialty that requires things from a camera that most camera don't provide.

I'm not familiar with the cameras you referred to, but here's what I discovered when comparing their specifications.

Samsung S1050:
  • 35mm film camera equivalent focal length: 38-190mm [/*]
  • Maximum Aperture: f/2.8-4.5
Olympus FE-340:
[/*]
  • 35mm film camera equivalent focal length: 36-180mm [/*]
  • Maximum Aperture: f/3.5-5.6
Olympus SP-550 UZ:
[/*]
  • 35mm film camera equivalent focal length: 28-504mm [/*]
  • Maximum Aperture: f/2.8-4.5[/*]
The SP-550 has the widest angle and the largest aperture, and I think it will best suit your intended purpose.