Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 22, 2008, 3:29 AM   #1

Hi all,

I am relatively new to photgraphy. I bought a second hand Lumix FZ-5 a couple of years ago and it still serves me well, but it doesn't do everything that I need as well as I need.

I spend much of my time photographing palm trees for my website. In larger, outdoor environments this is often quite easy, but I am frequently in glasshouses, and have to try to take photo's of mature trees that may be 50' tall or more, but I can't get more than 10' away from them. I appreciate that no lens, even fisheyes, would be wide angled enough to get the whole tree, but I would like to be able to get as much of the tree as possible into the shot. There have been occasions when I have ended up with a photo of a leaf.

That is the main dilemma, but there are other requirements. Sometimes, I have to take the photo's in fairly deep shade, because they are in amongst several larger plants. Sometimes, my only option is to take a photo with the sun immediately behind the tree and lots of shade at the bottom of the tree, which seems to cause problems, firstly getting colour into the tree and secondly getting any detail in the shaded areas.

There are other issues, but I'm sure you have probably got most of the picture of my requirements.

I assume I need a DSLR of some kind to get the kind of wide angle I would need, but which one would be best for my requirements.

By the way, I also need good zoom capability as well to get close ups of fruit and flowers that may be 50' or more up in the air.

Any help would be much apprecaited.

Thanks,

Corey.
Neofolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 22, 2008, 8:42 AM   #2

The FZ-5 you're using now doesn't go very wide (35mm film equivalent focal length of 35mm) and that's why you're having trouble getting shots of tall trees in confined spaces.