Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 24, 2008, 9:02 AM   #1

Sarah Joyce is to blame for this, as was all set on a superzoom, then she comes along, shows some lovely dslr pictures and it is obvious; that is the level of quality I am after. And although i am currently using a point and shoot canons45, i am not a complete beginner as for years i did use film slrs, though never more than with its standard lens and a zoom for distance.

Anyway, this is what i need

a not too difficult slr camera, which i can use for my african safari, but which afterwards can replace the function of my point and shoot camera (though i'll still keep it).

Though money isn't the big issue, i do not want to over equip myself and will be looking at starter models with a standard small zoom and an additional up to 300 mm lens (understand that will give me about 10x magnification (??))

attibutes which would be appreciated

reasonable compact size, that also counts for the "up to 300 mmlens"

ease of use

6 mp upwards (well, that's all of them, i suppose i am double checking that 6mp is good enough, or whether i should get into 8-10mp)

aa batteries as an option would be handy (not many sockets for chargers in the Kalahari desert)

weather "resistant"

I am planning to "go into town" soon and look at Canon 400D, Pentax K100s, Nikon D40 (x) Olympus 410, sony a200.

Is that a reasonable list? Any outstanding candidates considering my requirements? Any i can cross off straight away. Any worthwhile upgrades from basic models indicated? Any views on make of lens to go for? Are Tamrons and Sigma's ok?

Sorry for the many questions, (remember, its SJ to blame :-))

wittetulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 24, 2008, 9:34 AM   #2