Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 25, 2008, 7:38 AM   #1

Hi everyone,

i'm a master student doing work on digital cameras, such as nikon coolpix series (or other brands. digital SLR exluded) and wanted to ask you, between these parameters, what's more important to you when looking for a new camera?:

- full automatic or manual options
- big zoom
- ergonomics - grip, buttons...
- mega pixels
- size - small and compact
- design - shape
- color
- big LCD
- batteries - AA or lithium
- easy use - intuitive, easy to operate

and what is missing in your camera? what would you add or improve?
any ideas for future cameras?...

your help is most appreciated : )

thanks you very much, and a lovely weekend

guychko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 25, 2008, 7:49 AM   #2

You left out the most important factor of all - picture quality.
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2008, 8:31 AM   #3

you're right, it is very important of course, and if i were to count all the parameters it will be a long list... but i'm trying to concentrate for now on more external features, before i get into internal elements.
so if picture qulity is first, what parameters from the list you think will follow then?
Old Apr 25, 2008, 12:10 PM   #4

What is the purpose of your research? Just curious. This is important because from a market research standpoint the question is too broad. There are different market segments that use digicams. The list of important features will differ by market segment. Which of course is why manufacturers have several lines of digital cameras. So without factoring in market segment, I'm curious what type of research it is you're really trying to do?

You say you're doing work on digital cameras like Nikon coolpix. What exactly does that mean? Are you employed by Nikon? Are you just using nikon cameras for a hobby? Are you doing a thesis about digital cameras?