Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 29, 2008, 10:05 PM   #1

I am a scientist (not a photographer) needing a DSLR Camera to take pictures that (as close as possible) mimic the Human Eye. Can you help me select a current DSLR model that fits my specification?

A) I need a similar integration time (-1/45 second)
B) Similar "Pixel" size (4.65um vs. 3um in fovea)
C) Matching focal length (25mm vs. 22mm)
D) Matching F/# (f/5.6 vs f/3-f/8)

If you said Nikon DXXX with XXX lens available at leading stores - that would be perfect.
It will only be uses occasionally at work - but then again if you said a Nikon D300 (I think this is the latest Nikon nice model) then I could get it and also use it for my family. - which would be nice

Thanks all you experts ahead any feedback
Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 30, 2008, 2:23 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Well heck, you're going to need a LOT of resolution.

http://www.clarkvision.com/imagedeta...esolution.html

So I reckon the closest you can get at the moment that is the Canon 1Ds MkIII with the 24mm f1.4 L lens.

See if you can sell that one. :-)

Or how about a Leica M8 with Zeiss Distagon 18mm f4 ZM lens?

That should be fun to work with too!

If you have your heart set on a D300 then you could try it with the 18mm f2.8 D lens.

Or you could wait a little longer because both Nikon and Sony are expected to release 24Mp cameras this year. Pair with the very lovely Zeiss 25mm Distagon MF lens, or hope for an equivalent Alpha-mount lens.

peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2008, 10:16 AM   #3

In addition to the points raised by peripatetic, I'd like to mention some other points, some of which are obvious and some of which might not be.