Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 2, 2008, 1:19 PM   #1

I have read too much. And I'm not an expert at all. I currently do not have a digital camera. But loved my film 35mm.

I also looked at a Fujifilm. But I'm open minded and open to your suggestions.

~drum roll please~

Which one will it be:

Nikon 40

Panasonic FZ18?

Thank you all. Happy Snappin'

I will betaking pics of my child playing soccer, ballet. And anything else that stands still. :-)

Derby08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 2, 2008, 1:27 PM   #2
Administrator

Why these two models?

What type of photos (and in what conditions) do you think you'll use a camera in more often?

What type of 35mm SLR did you use, and do you still have any lenses for it?

What's your budget?

These are very different camera models, and you'd need to consider what lenses you need with a D40 solution (if you want the zoom range you'd have with the Panansonic).

Of course, nothing says you have to buy everything at once, and you could always start with a kit lens, using it for a while before deciding if you need something more (and you'd be able to make a better informed decision after understanding the strengths and weaknesses of a single kit lens).

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2008, 1:30 PM   #3

The Nikon D40 and the Panasonic FZ18 are very different cameras with very different capabilities and very different costs. It might help if you could tell us what you want from a digital camera, and how you narrowed your selection down to just those two.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2008, 1:48 PM   #4

Don't laugh. Canon AE-1

And a zoom lens that I really didn't use that much. I don't have it with me right now.