Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 7, 2008, 6:17 AM   #1
Super Moderator

Hi All,

I'm looking at getting a Panasonic TX5 as a convenient camera to take where my dSLR's are too bulky and not practical. I'm just wondering after looking at the sample shots if I'm being too picky. I use a Canon 5D and 1D mkIII as my main cameras so I know I'm not going to get the same quality but are the results of the TZ5 (noise etc) what I would expect from a P&S?

The main reasons I'm looking at the TZ5 is the zoom (28 wide equiv and 280 long) as well as HD video which is a bonus.

Help!!!

Thanks,

Mark
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 7, 2008, 8:00 AM   #2

I have no personal experience with the TZ5 but a frequent contributor to these forums, mtclimber (Sarah Joyce Weber) thinks very highly of the camera and chose it as her walk around camera for her latest cruise. She has posted some test pics you should be able to find if you search on her username.
ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2008, 8:03 AM   #3
Super Moderator

Thanks,

I've seen sarah's posts but you can never tell anything from images reduced that far. I've looked at quite a few full size images and just wanted to know if this is what I should be expecting.

Another question is there seems to be quite a bit of noise reduction, can this be controlled/reduced/turned off so I can use noiseware which will do a lot better job?

Mark

Old May 7, 2008, 9:13 AM   #4

Here is DPReview's test: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonictz5/

Based on what I can read there and in Panasonics own site neither adjustments on noise reduction nor RAW are available on the TZ5.

ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2008, 1:42 PM   #5
Super Moderator

I wasn't worried about RAW as only ever use it as a backup at weddings but the noise reduction looks a little like a painting so wouldn't mind getting rid of that.