Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 13, 2008, 5:00 AM   #1

I am confused over which camera I should choose between Panasonic's DMC TZ5 and Fuji's Finepix F100fd. The former has a greater zooming capabilities while the latter has better picture quality (owing toits bigger sensor size - SuperCCD).

Please help me out...
sasi914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2008, 10:40 AM   #2

What do you want to take pictures of mainly? In what kind of lighting conditions? What is your experience with photography? Do you have a digital camera now? If so, why do you want to upgrade?
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2008, 2:13 AM   #3

I am not a professional, but I like to play with my camera every now and then... and especially during family or friends'get-togethers (during which the light conditions are dark most of the times) or like outdoor trips (normal daylight conditions)... I have a Canon A520 right now for the pasttwo and a half years (this is my total experience with photography)...

Reason for upgrade :I am planning to keep this one with my parents (coz they dont have one right now)...

In all, I want a good compact point-and-shoot camera with good picture quality (I guess thats what most of us simple souls want :-))... Of course, I do not have the Manual mode with either of the cameras I have zeroed in, to experiment... But I'll be happy enough even If I the shots I getwith the presets with the camera are good enough...

Comingto the TZ5, I was interested due to the iAuto, megazoom, 16:9 aspect ratio, zooming capability during movie capture... As with the F100fd, I was interested mainly due to the SuperCCD (I had seen the results in F30fd from a friend), and also due to its size/weight...