Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 15, 2008, 12:46 AM   #1

I honestly can't tell you why i had such a problem with the H1. I tried to take pics of people in candid shots and the camera took so long i missed everything. I depressed the shutter button halfway and was ready to go, but it took a good 2 seconds before it took the pic with flash and no good shots.. compare that 500 camera to my 99 dollar point and shoot kodak that takes a picture instantly when you press the shutter button, even with flash, almost instant..
I want to upgrade now, looking at the Nikon D40, but I am afraid i will have the same problem with speed. Is the Sony that way or did i have a defective camera? Meaning, when you depress the shutter button halfway to let it focus, when you push it shouldn't the pic be instant like the Kodak? I just don't want to run into that problem again and I am a newbie so I definitely could use your help.
Thanks all and nice to find the site
cindyh42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 15, 2008, 9:22 AM   #2
Administrator

Virtually all cameras work that way (half press and it will focus, press it the rest of the way down to take the photo), unless you're using a fixed focus lens (one that never changes it's focus).

With most cameras, you can also fully depress the shutter instead (but, the camera will still need to focus).

The H1 AF speed isn't that bad from what I can see in Steve's Review Conclusion (you'll find that kind of performance testing in each camera's review here on the Conclusion page).

http://www.steves-digicams.com/2005_...ny_h1_pg5.html

But, there are many factors that will influence it, including the amount of light (and indoors is low light to a camera), and how far you zoom in (since most zoom lenses get dimmer as you zoom in more, making it harder for the camera to "see" well enough to focus).