Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 21, 2008, 4:22 PM   #1

:O
Firstly, id like to introduce myself ... I'm about 31 from India... just taken up photography as a hobby... have a Canon S5 IS for about a year and was planning on getting a new DSLR. i have short-listed the Nikon D40x, D60 and the Canon 450D. I would like to being by saying my photography needs... just a casual amateur photographer who likes to capture the sunset , the sunrise... beautiful landscapes etc., my pictures are based more on nature than anything else.

Now i will need your help in choosing the right one as i am totally new to the DSLR category. Let me give you the reasons for choosing the respective cameras:

Nikon D40x:

I was actually looking for information on the D60 and came across a few articles which said that the D40x was faster than the D60 and it doesn't necessarily mean that more mega pixels would mean better picture quality. So that is how the D40x came to my mind.

Nikon D60:

I first choose the D60 as i read somewhere that it had a newer image processor and more MPs... which later on i came to read that doesn't mean is better.

Canon 450D:

The primary reason for choosing this one apart from the fact that this is a Canon was that it has got Live View Mode... now to be very honest i dont know how much this is going to help me or dissuade me from buying the others.

One more thing id like to request u guys is to please keep the cost of the lenses... im not too sure which lenses cost more... i checked a few Nikkor lenses n phew ... took my breath away.

I had a question that i needed to ask y'all experienced people... do u think its a good idea to get the 450D or the others above mentioned... now I'm asking this keeping in mind the price of the lenses n all.