Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 22, 2008, 3:28 PM   #1

I am studying abroad next year in China for the entire year and I trying to figure out what I am going to take in terms of photo stuff and I wanted to get some advice. I have been doing more photography here at home and I think that there will be a lot of photo opportunities in China, so I want to be prepared. I know I will be taking my laptop, which is a Dell XPS M1210 and is perfectly capable of doing all my photo work. The only problem is it has an 80 gig hard drive, which is already mostly full. Instead of buying a new internal hard drive, which for my laptop maxes out at about 250 gigs and cost a lot, I think I will buy an external drive with 500-750 gigs of space (which cost about 100 bucks now and probably a bit less in a month or two) for photo and RAWs. That way I can keep all of my photos on the drive and keep my laptop internal drive free for other stuff.
In addition to an external drive, I want to be able to put my pictures up online for 1) backup because I will only have one copy on the external drive and if that fails I will loose my only copy, and 2) to share with friends and family back home. I was looking at the Flikr premium account which is like 30 bucks and gets you unlimited storage, but I liked the look of smug mug, which is about 40 bucks for a premium account and that gets you unlimited storage as well as some other stuff.