Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 22, 2008, 5:59 PM   #1

As you migt understand, I am a beginner.:O:O:O My aim is to make nice photos of outdoor sports sutch asfield hockey.The question is, shouldI buy a DSLR instant or start cearfully with a "bridge"camera???? Please Help.............:?

Ofcourse I do have to make this choice myselfbut al suggestions are welcome....:idea:
erwinb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 22, 2008, 8:42 PM   #2

I think you should buy what you're comfortable with. I researched cameras forever and ended up buying something that was not even on my list of cameras to buy. Recently I justgotthis newCanon PowerShot SD1100 IS for my brother, it's a great deal, on sale for only $179

http://www.***************/viewtopic....937&ru=290

You can go toa camera shop and trying a bunch out. You have to decide what is a good fit for you.

Good luck.
weing12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2008, 12:48 AM   #3

erwin-

Naturally, a DSLR camera is going to give you more of what what you seem to desire, if that kind of budget is feasibile. However, even a "bridge" camera will be hard pressed due to the need for increased shutter speeds.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2008, 9:48 AM   #4

The major issue is what kind of lighting will be available for the field hockey? If it will be daylight then most of the better P&S camera will provide a high enough shutter speed for action stopping without raising the ISO excessively. If, on the other handmost events will be under artificial light then a DSLR with low noise at high ISOs (and a relatively fast lens) is the better (only) option.