Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 4, 2008, 2:06 AM   #1

Hi everyone,

I've been looking for a new camera for a while, and it's quickly becoming crunch time (I need one before the month is over). My number one desire is IQ, but I'll need a P&S (Even the smallest DSLR will be too big, what with the lenses and all). I've thought about the Canon A650, Ixus 90IS, Panasonic T-Z5, among others, but now I've come to the G9.

The only question I have is how well does it work in low light?

Looking at the low light picture at http://www.luminous-landscape.com/re...G9-Japan.shtml I think it looks stunning... but since that picture has been reduced, I have no idea if it really is that good.

I'm by no means a professional (I hesitate to call myself even a novice), and I know that a P&S will never be a DSLR, but I want the best, for the least... Is that too much to ask? :O

If anyone has any alternatives, I'm all ears. Unfortunately I cannot get a hold of the Fuji F31fd, so that's out....

Thanks
Michael
Morien is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 4, 2008, 3:34 AM   #2
Super Moderator

All the small sensor cameras are pretty close in low-light ability. So they are all equally good (or bad). The sensors themselves are incredibly efficient at low-light capture, but suffer from being very small.

Even so, in the right hands it is possible to get pretty good results, as the LL article shows. Of course you will see noise in large prints, but if you find it objectionable you can always work on it with NoiseNinja or something.

The most important thing you can do in low light is make sure you are exposing according to the ETTR principle. See the latest LL articles for the reasons why.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2008, 10:09 AM   #3