Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 10, 2008, 10:07 PM   #1

:?
Would greatly appreciate some helpful advice. First I'm an novice, I do not use the manual settings just the auto setting. I use my camera for typical family pictures kids sports, partys, nothing fancy.

I usually purchase Canon cameras and have always been pleased.

I want to upgrade my Canon S2 to one of the following.

Canon S5 IS
Sony H9
Sony DSC H50

Steve lists both the S5 and H9 under the "best megazoom camera section"

Consumer Reports (July 2008 rates the H9 #1 best superzoom out of 11 cameras and the S5 at number 8?

CNET rates the S3 and S5 top 2 superzoom cameras and the H9 #8

Seen various complaints about H9 picture quality consistancy on the web (may be early models only?)

Bottom line for me is I want a reliable easy to use camera that takes excellent quality pictures and good video as well. The ability to take action sport shots is a nice plus too.

So which one is best for me???

Thanks for the help!

PJWhooppie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 10, 2008, 10:31 PM   #2

Roll dice. With any of the three the photographer has more influence than the camera.
ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 11:08 PM   #3

I haven't read that specific Consumer Reports review, but in general, I would trust any reputable name over a Consumer Reports rating. I remember back in tha 90s, they did a comparison of cheaper sport coupes. They rated the Ford Probe GT as the worst expected reliability while the Maxda MX-6 got either the very best or next to the best expected reliability. I'm all for Japanese cars, but the Probe GT and the MX-6 were the same car build in the same factory.