Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 21, 2008, 12:58 AM   #1

Hello, new to the site here and would like to start off by saying thank you for the great site with tons of info and experience... Next I would like to say darn you for making my simple choice even harder...LOL. Anyways I am a beginner looking at buying aDSLR (from a P&S). My wife is getting mad at trying to use her little camera to getshots of our 7yr old at his soccer game which helps me sell her on the new DSLR that I have wanted for a while ;-). I have an original SLR EOS Rebel that I purchased back in like 1990/1991. I love the camera and still use at times but it seems this is now a digital age... Now I have read so much on this site that it has only made me more confused...I know that no one can tell me 100% what to get and it will come down to what I feel. I am lookingfor what might suit me best for what I want out of a camera. Anyways here goes.I will use the cameramostly for my son's outdoor sports (soccer/baseball), then general outdoor photosand then of course for those special moments indoors (P&S just don't do it unless your close to subject). I am looking at either the EOS 400D, 450D or the 40D (Sony A200 close 4th choice). I want a camera that will last forquite a while as you can tell by how long I had my SLR. Now is the MP of the 450Dover the others a big influence? Is the speed of the 40D a big influence over the others? Oris the lower cost of the 400D a big influence? And input on the Sony (I'm used to Canon)? AlsoI will be lookingforoneor two lensesthat will cover a decent range including one for zoom (for the sports) and a lensfor indoors with trying to keep thecost as low as possible without wasting money on pure junk... Thanksfor taking the time to read this and the possible help...
GatorKev is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 21, 2008, 7:44 AM   #2