Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 3, 2008, 12:22 AM   #1

New here to the forums and well figured this is where to start. Just recently got the photography bug which is by no means a bad thing. If you just don't ask the wife. I am not sure which way to go as far as a camera. I am really pretty new to photography. The primary things that, I will be photographing is my family, trips, wildlife (zoo animals) and a occasional airshow every now and then. I really like the point and shoot style cameras far easier and more in my price range. I also really like the DSLR cameras but don't know if, I want to jump to a DSLR camera that quick. If, I get to taking pictures and enjoy it plan to take some photography classes then at that time could justify letting go of more money for a DSLR camera.

I have a good friend who recommended that for the zoo pics a 40-150mm lens. Is there any point and shoots that will allow me to take this kind of photo's or has this zoom type lens but also meet my other requirements. I do realize that the point and shoots may not do to good for airshows for aerial shots. I lean toward the Nikon's however would possibly consider others. I was thinking an Nikon P80? Would like to stay in the $400-420 range at the most if possible.

Thanks

zoofan
zoofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 3, 2008, 1:20 AM   #2

The Nikon P80 is a substantial investment for someone just starting out.

I'd recommend a less expensive camera with manual controls that will enable you to learn how to manipulate shutter speed, aperture and ISO. The Canon A590IS would be a good camera for that purpose. The A590IS also takes a nice looking picture.
http://www.flickr.com/cameras/canon/powershot_a590_is/
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2008, 10:33 AM   #3

ZooFan-