Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 5, 2008, 6:31 AM   #1

Hi to all;

I've read tens of reviews, but i couldn't find.

Although i like, i have no interest in active professional photography. I am a student. My aim is to record lectures, and I wan to buy a 5mp-i think it will be enough for me- camera with built in high quality microphone, and ultra-if possible- high quality voice recording feature. However, i don't want to buy a toy. I want a realiable camera. Lens quality is very important.

optional: 720p video recording feature, not essential but would be nice i guess(?) I don't a higher resolution becuse my laptop and lcd does support 720p, not higher. I don't want to edit Gigabytes of overquality video than i need.

Thank you very much. I am vew here, sorry for any unintentional mistake.
ornitrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 5, 2008, 8:13 AM   #2

Digital cameras are generally poor to adequate at audio and video recording. Also using the recording feature will drain your battery very quickly.

To me it makes much more sense to record lectures by purchasing a dedicated voice recorder, which you can buy for a pretty cheap price. You can then use your camera for what it's good at - taking still photos and short You Tube type videos.
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2008, 8:50 AM   #3

Thanks.

in fact "to record lectures by purchasing a dedicated voice recorder", i've been thinking about. But i also need a digital camera, i thought it would be better to buy to features in one.

Also, i was predicting there will be lots of brilliant advises. I'm disappointed to have to pay both, camera and voice recorder. How can these, lots of, movie recording cameras don't have enough quality for a simple voice recording feature? Unbeliavable.

Thanks again.
ornitrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2008, 3:58 PM   #4