Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 6, 2008, 5:04 PM   #1

I am not a professional. I enjoy taking pictures of my kids sporting events and sharing them with friends and family. I also shoot some sr. picture type shots of my daughter and her friends just for fun. Indoor Volleyball, Swimming, and football. I am only considering upgrading because I'm having difficulty capturing the photos I want especially in the poor lighting in gyms/pools . . . the the S2IS only has max 400 ISO. Will I be able to get better results with the Sony Alpha A300? What lenses would I need? I just don't want to spend a ton of $$ with-out achieving better results.

The below shots are representative of what I'm taking. . . . I totally understand that these are not great shots, but considering the conditions, I'm still taking better pictures than most of my friends.

<a href="http://lh5.ggpht.com/margstamps/SHE8...0/IMG_0623.JPG" /></a>

<a href="http://lh3.ggpht.com/margstamps/SGZ9...0/IMG_2163.JPG" /></a>

http://picasaweb.google.com/margstam...19077229247922

<a href="http://lh4.ggpht.com/margstamps/SHE7...0/IMG_7831.JPG" /></a>
margstamps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 6, 2008, 5:11 PM   #2

Take a look at the Sports & Action Photosforum, and see what those people are using.

For indoor sports (Volleyball) you'll need a medium telephoto lens with a large aperture (f/2.0 or larger.) Sony's selection of lenses like that is lean and ones they've got are expensive. Canon, Nikon, and Pentax have better lens choices, and Canon is a clear favorite of sports photographers.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2008, 6:53 PM   #3