Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 10, 2008, 4:41 PM   #1

Howdy everyone, good to be here at the boards. I'm looking into an intro DSLR that will be mostly used for action shots at commercial airports. I'm a pilot in training to become a commercial pilot for Delta and commercial aviation/photography are my passions. (And cars but gas is so expensive its no fun to go fast anymore).

So anyways...I'm in college and on a budget. It looks like the A200 + 18-70 and 70-300 can be had for 599 on sonystyle right now.

The D40 with 18-55 and 55-200 can be had for 599 (with bag and dvds) from ritz as well.

I'd have to buy a bag for the first option but I don't think an extra 30 bucks would break the bank. Also if you could recommend a good place to get cheap SD or CF cards.

Anyways to the point I will be using the camera for aviation photography, around the house/family shots, and at the dog park for pictures of my dog.

Which is a better bang for the buck?

At the store the Sony was definitely more comfortable in my hands (6'2" 200 lbs...not a small guy) the Nikon kind of felt like I was having to cradle it too much because it was so small.

The only reason I haven't jumped on the sony yet is the fear of image quality not being on par with the Nikon's or Canon's image quality.

Off to work now, hope to hear from some of you knowledgeable folks. THANKS IN ADVANCE EVERYONE!!!! :-)
03SVTCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 10, 2008, 4:59 PM   #2

"Aviation" photography or "Aerial" photography?

First, it seems that a significant portion of your photography will be action shots, and the autofocus on the D40 (indeed, any of the entry level Nikon dSLRs) isn't one of the fastest.

Second, the A200 has a faster autofocus system, but the 75-300 is soft at the long end and prone to chromatic abberation in high-contrast situations.