Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 17, 2008, 3:48 PM   #1

Hey guys

My DSC-W50 just exploded and with a repair cost of £114 squid from sony, I think I would rather get a a new one!

So the main purpose of this camera is to take pictures of Grass snakes (Natrix natrix), which are a lovely species of snake that I am studying

So what are the guidelines?

- Must be able to use easily with one hand and fit into a pocket (but I do have quite large pockets I'll have you know )

- 10+ megapixals (hopefully 12) - I do a lot of cropping and mega need the quality

- very good macro functions - I take very close up shots of the snakes head, this is due to each snake having its own special pattern, so I can individualy identify them using this technique!

- some zoom - as in 6x optical or more

- handle outdoor conditions :- sunny, shady, raining etc

Soooo I have been doing my own research, I like the Canon G9 and the Panasonic DMC-TZ5! I handled them in the shop, the G9 is pretty dam chunky but I think I could get away with, I dunno if its just to feature rich for my needs, when it comes down to it I do just need a point and shoot. But it has to be a point and shoot that kicks ass!

So what do you think of those two cameras and what other options are on the market?

Cheers, Mark

Markay is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 17, 2008, 5:48 PM   #2

If I were taking pictures of snakes it would be from a long way away, so I'd probably get the camera with the most optical zoom.

However, you're braver than I and would be content with a camera with a moderate zoom.

If I were you, I'd get a camera with a viewfinder, which I think makes it easier to track moving objects like snakes.

If the Canon G9 is not right for you, I'd recommend the Canon A650IS, which is practically the same as the G9 (same lens, processor, sensor, number of megapixels) but more consumer friendly (and much less expensive).