Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 20, 2008, 11:23 PM   #1

I am in the market for a digital camera have done some research to answer most of my questions. I however need some guidance on what type of camera would be best for my needs. I went to the local brick and mortor store today however sadly the sells person seemed to know about as much about cameras as I do kind of disappointing so left without getting a answer to my question. So, I figured I would ask the forum to see if they could better aid me in my search for a new camera.

I have limited knowledge of photography however really want to get a good camera to take pictures of family, vacations etc. I upon my research believe the Panosonic FZ18 or the Nikon P80 are the main two cameras that, I am interested in or would, I be better off to get a entry level DLSR camera? Would the Nikon and Panosonic meet all my needs for now and quite some time? If all else fails can always go DSLR later down the road. With the Nikon it has 10 megapixels and the Pansonic has 8.1 megapixels what effect does it have on the quality of pics? If, I do go with the Panosonic or the Nikon models listed above which is the better camera?

Thanks

Safariman/Mike
safariman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 21, 2008, 5:54 AM   #2

An entry level DSLR will cost $500 at a minimum. You will probably want to add lenses for closeup (macro) and long range shooting so it will wind up costing you a lot more eventually.