Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 24, 2008, 5:36 PM   #1

I've been using my Nikon D100 for five years. I work as a firefighter and enjoy taking spectacular wildland fire shots. I'm a pretty solid enthusiast- I know the basics and use the basics of my D100 but I know that I don't take advantage of the full abilities of my camera.

My only complaint is that my D100 takes up most of the free space in my fire bag and that it is large/heavy in my rather small (female) hands. Since I am usually on the go, I only have on lens - a Nikkor AF macro zoom that I adore (though it only has ok reviews online).

I'm thinking about upgrading to a D200 or an Alpha A350.

Having handled the Alpha, I like how it feels in my hands (fits well and is light) and I love the pop-out viewfinder, which makes taking waist-level shots a snap. I dislike how light and plastic-y the lenses feel and worry about the quality of the Minolta/Sony lenses available. I don't like that it tops out at 2.5 fps. I've read that the A350 is a good "beginner" DSLR and don't want to be taking a step backwards performance-wise.

Having handled the D200, it feels familiar- heavy and boxy, not all that ergonomic. I like the controls better than my D100, it feels like they've chosen the right places to change controls. I dislike that I won't be able to do waist-level photography and that it will take up just as much space/weight in my pack. I like that I know that Nikkor lenses give me the kind of images I want.

All that being said- any advice from the camera gurus? Thanks in advance.
arnicae is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 24, 2008, 7:23 PM   #2

You already have reservations about the Alpha A350 so why continue to consider it?

Realize you would have to replace your lens and any other accessories such as speedlights you may have if you go Sony.