Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 3, 2008, 4:17 PM   #1

I started with a Canon AE film camera and have been using a Powershot for the past several years. As a Florida resident, I'm wanting to get more serious about wildlife photography and I'mconsidering three different cameras with built in stabilization. Can you help point me in the right direction?

Olympus E51010 mp $599 with Zuiko Digital ED 14 - 42 mm f3.5 - f5.6 Lens - (equivalent to 28mm - 84mm in 35mm photographyand image stablization and dust reduction system and 4/3 lenssystem. All 4/3 System lenses have a FOV 2x that of a 35mm lens system. For example, the 90-250 F2.8 Lens has a Field of View equivalent to a 180mm to 500mm lens.

http://www.nwpphotoforum.com/ubbthreads/information/php/2007_Reviews/Isaac/Oly510Review.php

Sony A200K 10 mp with 18-70 mm zoom f3.5-4.5 (27-105mm eq)$499 and for another $100 you can get a Sony 75-300 mm telephoto zoom lens ($599 for both).

Pentax K200D 10.2MP Digital SLR Camera with Shake Reduction 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens $614.

Brian

I like the Olympus because the 2x FOV makes a 250 mm lens = to 500 mm lens, but I think the Sony is a good deal right now. I'm leaning toward Sony, but I'm thinking the Olympus might be a better platform to add a lens for bird photography later on.

In the meantime, if I decide to go with Olympus instead of Sony I'll just have to get closer to the birds to make up for the lack of zoom.
bpearcy10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 3, 2008, 6:01 PM   #2

First, the Sony A200 has a 10MP sensor, not a 14MP sensor. The A350 has a 14MP sensor, plus 'Live View' like the A300 and the Olympus.