Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 23, 2008, 3:41 AM   #1

Hello I am new to DSLR's, but want the best dslr camera for taking picture of the homes I list (both outside and inside). I have been looking at both the D300 and 40D. My budget is around $2k. I will also be using this camera for everyday pictures.

Thanks for the help in advance!
eshtog is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 23, 2008, 5:03 AM   #2

the key for what you want is not the camera body, but the lens. For interior photography you are going to want something that is really wide, ideally under the equivalent to 24 mm (which is about 12mm for olympus and 16mm for canon/nikon etc). Those lenses are generally somewhat expensive.

Something like an olympus e-3 with the 12-60 lens, the canon 40d with the 17-40 lens, for example.
dlpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2008, 5:36 AM   #3

I already have the Canon XSi that I just bought a couple days ago. I wasnt happy with the quality of pictures it took indoors especially with light coming through the windows. I will probably return it and get the Canon 40d and the Canon 17-40mm Ultra-Wide Zoom Lens. I have also heard the 50d will be out soon, anyone know approx when they will release it?

What do you guys think?
eshtog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2008, 6:58 AM   #4

eshtog wrote:
Quote:
I already have the Canon XSi that I just bought a couple days ago. I wasnt happy with the quality of pictures it took indoors especially with light coming through the windows. I will probably return it and get the Canon 40d and the Canon 17-40mm Ultra-Wide Zoom Lens. I have also heard the 50d will be out soon, anyone know approx when they will release it?

What do you guys think?